AIA Tennessee Recognizes 2018 Lifetime Awards Honorees

Gary Everton, FAIA and L. Duane Grieve, FAIA received the highest honors that AIA Tennessee can bestow on an individual during the 2018 AIA Tennessee Conference on Architecture.

2018 Lifetime Award Recipients, Gary Everton, FAIA (left) with Duane Grieve, FAIA (right).

The two awards, William Strickland Lifetime Achievement Award for the Profession of Architecture and Samuel Morgan Lifetime Service Award for Contribution to Architecture in the Public Realm, are conferred by the AIA Tennessee Board in recognition of a significant body of work influencing the built environment.

Gary Everton, FAIA, of Nashville received the 2018 AIA Tennessee William Strickland Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding design work, firm leadership, and service to the American Institute of Architects on the local, state, regional and national levels.

L.. Duane Grieve, FAIA, of Knoxville, was awarded the 2018 AIA Tennessee Samuel Morgan Lifetime Service Award for his impressive achievements in his career, service to AIA (serving as the National Treasurer) and commitment in the political realm as a citizen architect serving on the Knoxville City Council and most recently as the executive director of the East TN Community Design Center.

These awards were given at an Awards Gala held during the AIA TN Conference on Architecture while their families, friends and professional colleagues helped them celebrate.